Posted in Let's look

Let’s Look

Hello! How is your week going so far? Monday was a little rough after going to bed a little later than usual thanks to the Super Bowl. Hayden’s still reeling from the Chiefs’ loss, but his attitude is improving a bit each day!

We have some winter weather on the way, so I’ve front loaded my week with errands and crossing things off my weekly to do list.

Today, Shay and Erika are hosting their monthly Let’s Look link up, and I’m joining in on the fun.

In January, we looked at our coffee bar areas. I don’t have a coffee bar, so I shared a few of my favorite mugs!

Today’s topic is Let’s Look: Love Language.

So, I’ve had this book for years…but haven’t read it. #andtravissighswithrelief

I know the Five Love Languages are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

Well, since one of the love languages isn’t Amazon, I’m guessing Acts of Service is where I’m at in the “Love Language” department.

I guess just with the hustle and bustle of the day, I appreciate when Travis steps in to help with little things like unloading the dishwasher, doing the dishes, and even just bringing the laundry upstairs.

That being said, I love cards. Words of “written” affirmation must be one of my languages as well. I appreciate a sticky note with “have a good day,” and cards on special occasions (or for no reason!)

I don’t think Trav will mind me sharing this story, but I remember after we’d been dating for exactly one month, he bought me a card and just wrote a few words reflecting on our first month together. It was very sweet, and I think that’s when I realized how much a few written words or words of encouragement mean to me.

Travis “upped” his card game and at some point and started writing my name in bubble letters. While he’s no artist, I appreciate the sentiment.

I should probably dive a bit deeper into this love language business, but I’m sure Travis appreciates that I don’t. 😆 ! That being said, I do see the benefit in knowing and understanding your spouse’s emotional needs. Marriage is a journey, and the better you understand your partner, the better it is for everyone.

I still keep hoping Travis will master reading my mind, but until then, I guess I should remind him that acts of service is the way to go!

What’s your love language and how does it compare to your spouse’s language?

Next month’s topic is: perfect night in!

Thanks so much for reading. Make sure to check out the other ladies’ posts too!

See you tomorrow for a Three Things post.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Look

  1. You should take the quiz online. It’s pretty quick and tells you your percentage for each love language. That’s what I did. I haven’t read the book. There is also one for kids. I had my boys take it today. I wasn’t surprised by their love language but I was a little surprised by how the other four fell. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s